Ocelot Reviews & Ratings | 2022 (2022)

Home

Live Chat Software

Ocelot

Ocelot Reviews

Read what people like you have said about using Ocelot software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.72

43 Reviews

5
32
4
10
3
1
2
0
1
0

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Customer Support

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5
  • "The ease of implementation; [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was is a great asset; being able to provide 24/7/365 questions to our customers; ease of adding addition Q&A."
  • "Most administrative features are self-explanatory and did not require much training for use. Ocelot Bot has the opportunity to consistently improve if the users to their part."
  • "The ease and design of it is amazing. It is very easy to use Ocelot."
  • "Sometimes getting to the live chat is hard for the user."
  • "It's tough to gather *all* sorts of information on your company/institution, but once you do, implementation goes a bit smoother."
  • "Going behind the scenes can be hard to navigate."

Jump to:

Product Overview
Alternatives
Comparison

Browse all Ocelot Reviews

  • Have you used Ocelot and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 43 reviews

Kristin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

Ocelot Review

Ocelot is committed to serving students and supporting staff at the college. I have nothing but positive things to say about Ocelot and the services they have provided to our college. I would highly recommend their products to anyone looking for solutions to support their staff and students.

Pros

At our institution, we utilize several products from Ocelot which includes the Ocelot Chatbot/FATV & GetSAP. One of the pros of purchasing an Ocelot software is the ease of implementation. They require little to no IT support and the Client Success Managers at Ocelot help every step of the way. Their products are straight forward and easy for students to use too! Ocelot provides support to students 24/7/365 days per year--during times that work for our students and their needs. We have students using the bot and our FATV platform during times that our department is not open and have had nothing but positive feedback from our students. Their products have been a game changer for our institution!

Cons

I don't have anything negative to say about their products. Again, they are easy to use and the Ocelot team helps every step of the way.

Norma

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

May 2021

Ocelot Review from Pima Community College

The goal of the bot is to be utilized across the college and for other/additional offices can come "on-board" to this tool. It sets a consistent tone and uniform way of communication to our students. Having this bot able to answer these up-front or first level responses creates the space that we need to able to focus our time in processing and reporting and other important activities. We are in times in which can not grow our workforce to step in and facilitate these types of responses.

Pros

faTV was the first product we began to use and it has helped us deliver detailed information to students that is "just enough" to help them understand and/or navigate a particular process. Since 2020, we have included the Chatbot in Financial Aid and we found great success in helping answer general questions. We have since incorporated many other offices to the Chatbot as well as using the LiveChat component to be able to respond to students more 'in-depth' or individual questions. This was especially useful in this time of the school closure (due to the pandemic), it added a personal touch and ability for students to connect with us.

Cons

I am aware that there is development of being able to allow the Chatbot to interface or be integrated with the student information system that is used to allow for customized, specific responses to students. This would be phenomenal to be able to enhance this tool.

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

We had already purchased a product and we wanted to keep it the tools consistent.

David

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: International Affairs

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

Good but not the greatest

Pros

It may help to answer some questions posed by students and prospective students.

Cons

But many of the answers offered by the service are generic and students / inquirers almost always have follow-up questions that require a live person. So the service offered by Ocelot seems to be mostly a first-step in almost always inevitably leading to a live person being contacted.

Holly

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

It's a great tool, with excellent customer service!

From start to implementation, the customer service was absolutely fantastic! I couldn't have asked for a better team. I extremely pleased that I was able to email my client success manager and get a quick response. Having the virtual training sessions was super helpful with getting through setup. The team continues to provide excellent customer service when I need their help.

Pros

Their knowledgebase is phenomenal! It was helpful to already have a library of questions included in our chatbot that we could build upon.

Cons

Getting the link to monthly reports is great, but it would be even better if the monthly reports were available for download from the admin site.

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

I attended a virtual meeting with other colleges and was immediately impressed. I contacted other colleges in NC for feedback and everyone raved of their knowledgebase and customer services. After a demo and a few conversations, I was sold and immediately shared with management.

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

OneStop Website

Overall experience has been mainly good. It is being used a lot. We would like better metrics, though. I believe we get information about video usage, but in our earlier product we received monthly reports that included how many questions were answered and how many had to be forwarded to us. We were also provided the most common questions as well as suggestions for revisions to questions that couldn't be answered. We were also told that the Chatbot would continue to get smarter (the Artificial Intelligence idea) and would search out website for answers. I'm not sure if that is happening--perhaps because of the limited metrics being provided.

Pros

I work in the Financial Aid Office and appreciated all of Ocelot's team members who had a similar background, so they 'get it'. The video library has been awesome to use as well. It was fairly easy to implement.

Cons

While we appreciated the many templates offered, we were surprised at how many included verbiage to 'call us.' We are trying to decrease traffic with this product.

Reasons for switching to Ocelot

Mainly because we were excited about the chat/Artificial Intelligence opportunity.

Jerid

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

Ocelot has been a great partner

Ocelot has been great at this point. Their staff was responsive and on track during the implementation process, and has continued to make themselves available afterward as we learn the nuances of the system. They have also been receptive to feedback and already made a few minor changes to improve the user experience.

Pros

I love that the bot provides us with a number of ways to engage our students. Through the bot, we can leverage the AI chat to field easy and low-level questions, while also giving students the option to quickly and easily connect with a person in a number of departments. The campaign feature is especially nice in that it gives us the ability to use a single system to reach students through methods they are most likely to read (texting).

Cons

I wish the reporting capabilities were a little more robust and allowed for more exporting of data. It would be nice to see additional details around usage during days and non-office hours to see how many students are being served when departments are not staffed.

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

We received better responses, and the use case for Ocelot was broader than some of the other AI Chatbot vendors we explored.

Reasons for switching to Ocelot

The other vendor was extremely costly, only offered a fraction of the functionality we are getting through Ocelot, and could not explain discrepancies in reporting around the accuracy of bot responses. Additionally their platform was challenging to make updates to custom instances.

Wilmani

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

Amazing Customer Support, Great Videos!

Overall, the experience has been great. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been great to work with from the beginning. Her advice for placement of the video content has been helpful and she is always quick to answer any of our questions.

Pros

We utilize the "financial aid tv" videos. We have placed these in a number of mass communications to clarify things such as MPN, LECS, Parent PLUS Loans, and even Financial Literacy. Based on our conversations with students, the videos are the perfect length and get right to the point providing helpful information. We found this was much better than recording our own content. We also like that the playlists have text transcripts and are ADA compliant.

Cons

I am not sure if we have a con at this moment.

Kathryn

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

Ocelot ChatBot for Financial Aid

Ocelot has been an exceptional company to work w/. Their products are always accurate, their customer services are superb, and they have adapted what they offer to meet the needs of their clients and audience.

Pros

Students can ask their questions and get answers 24/7, eliminating much of the phone and email traffic that would have come to Financial Aid staff, which frees them up to review student eligibility, award financial aid, and advise students w/ more complex issues and questions.

Cons

There was a fair bit of implementation time because we wanted to really customize the responses to our college.

Reasons for switching to Ocelot

Working w/ Ocelot's texting platform will integrate w/ our current use of GetAnswers videos and the ChatBot.

Takeo

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

FATV and Chatbot

Communication and implementation with the Ocelot team has gone well. Along with good products, Ocelot has been great to work with.

Pros

It's extremely helpful that Ocelot updates video content based on changes and updates to federal and some state regulations. It also helps that the chatbot integrates those videos into responses.

Cons

It would be nice to integrate these tools with others in our industry (i.e. for financial aid offices, partnering with CampusLogic and other similar companies/tools).

Lee Ann

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

Ocelot is AWESOME!

The videos, chatbot and text messages ensure students get accurate and concise information when they want it. Appreciate passion, dedication and attentiveness of all Ocelot leadership and staff to institution and student needs. We love [SENSITIVE CONTENT]

Pros

Easy to implement Excellent resource for students Immediately provided more time for staff to build relationships with students

Cons

The initial blue screen on the portal is unneeded - this is a very minor issue

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

Professionalism of Max Shure

Vickie

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

Ocelot Video Services are Excellent

We have long realized that short, impactful video is a way to reach our students, parents, and other clients in ways that straight text and pictures just doesn't. We went through the RFP process to try to locate a local videographer so that we could create a few "home grown" videos and found that the cost to create just a single video in both dollars and staff time would far exceed full year's contract cost with Ocelot. We've experienced excellent customer service during the entire process of both utilizing the library of already created videos and creating our own customized videos. Our watch rate remains high. In short, it's been a great value for the cost of the contract.

Pros

There is a full library of up to date, effective, and engaging videos available to use. You can opt to create a portal that students may select to browse and view topics of interest, embed selected videos into areas where their content can enhance your own web content and or work with Ocelot to create your own customized videos. A service representative will work proactively with you to identify those areas of your website where an embedded approach may be most beneficial. And... Spanish translations are also available, which is extremely beneficial for our parents who may not be native English speakers.

Cons

I honestly don't have a "least" liked item about this service. We've had excellent service and assistance whenever needed.

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

Net price and net value.

Bill

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

Fantastic Company and a Fantastic Product

I have been doing business with Ocelot for a number of year. They have been responsive to any needs I have had and proactive in helping us fully utilize the product. We have regular communication with our representative and they keep us fully informed of the enhancements made to the products and how to use them in our environment. A really great and responsive organization!

Pros

Ocelot is easy to use and provides the information need by student in a timely, efficient, and helpful way. Ocelot is always improving and making enhancements that better serve and communicate with students. We are extremely satisfied with both Financial Aid TV and the chatbot product. Couple that with the ability to imbed FATV with chatbot and you have a great way to communicate with students on a 24/7 basis. I strongly recommend Ocelot.

Cons

None, and if I found any they would most likely be working on incorporating what I need in the product.

Ms. Colette

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

We are satisfied with Ocelot's Services

Overall we are satisfied with Ocelot it has shown to be a very valuable asset

Pros

Ease and ability to capture student's inquiries when staff is unavailable

Cons

In our Financial Aid department there are so many scenarios , it would be convenient to have standard industry questions ready and available to select. A feature that corrects data like telephone numbers , student ids and contact emails.

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

Preferred the services offered

Brian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

Chatbot and videos

It has been good experience and I like the product but looking Togo to the next level

Pros

Ease of use, see history of chats, embed videos, staff is responsive

Cons

Not easy to go between chatbot and video platform, the chatbot offers a lot of links sometimes without answering the question, I didn’t like when they took away the alternative questions in the chatbot, looking for additional capability with live assistant that no one told me about.

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

Best product at the time but more competition now

Aurie

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

Chatbot is Wonderful!

Ocelot staff is wonderful! Very friendly, very helpful. We are so pleased with our chatbot!

Pros

Implementing the chatbot before the pandemic really set our financial aid office up to provide information to our students that was specific to their questions. The bot is also bilingual.

Cons

Getting our websystems administrators on board with providing necessary space on the public website for the chatbot was not easy. The actual software is great.

Jeannie

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

Fantastic Team To Work With

The Ocelot Team is amazing! They are easy to work with, they understand our needs and the needs of our students. They are ready at all times to stand up new products as you are ready to "go live" with any of them. We have found them to be very receptive to listen to suggestions and ideas, plus they have an ability to anticipate our questions and needs. Their team is forward thinking and they are implementing ideas and changes on a constant basis. We would absolutely recommend the Ocelot team and their products to anyone! They are a 12 out of 10 on all aspects!

Pros

Ocelot's GetAnswers, GetSAP, Chatbot with Live Chat, and Text Campaigns are far and above the easiest products to work in. Set up is not high impact and the benefits are long-reaching, even years after initial set up.

Cons

I have no Cons to list for Ocelot or their products.

Elizabeth

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

Ocelot Review

Pros

Ease of use, does not require IT support, provides equitable access to students instantly which promotes engagement

Cons

Needs to continue to build out relevant office functions outside of student services to reach a college wide use

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

Cost, overall college reach, total population reach, ease of use

Christopher

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

Excellent Customer Service

Chatbot aside. Ocelot is fantastic in terms of customer service. Our representative [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is prompt and courteous and feels like a member of our team here in the office.

Pros

Having insight to what the users/students are asking has been huge - the analytics/dashboard is a great feature that captures a lot of user information, which leads to better insights.

Cons

Responses can be a little clunky and the chatbot doesn't always get it right, but it gets users to the right place most of the time.

Jennifer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2022

Great Student Support

Pros

Incorporating the chatbot into our website has allowed us to better serve students and parents as well as cut down on email traffic to our front line. I love checking our transcripts and seeing the chatbot correctly answer questions even when our office is closed.

Cons

Utilizing the live chat feature has been less successful. We've found it difficult to have open and multi-task (like you would with a phone call).

Deborah

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

The Ocelot AI Chatbot

Excellent. We are especially happy with the on-going technical support.

Pros

The Ocelot AI Chatbot has aided us in communicating with our students 24/7, especially during the pandemic when we had to make quick changes in our availability which we were easily communicated to our students through additional questions added to the question inventory. We have had fun creating a "persona" for our chatbot and look forward to expanding the kinds and detail of questions that can be answered. We definitely feel that the chatbot has improved our ability to share important information quickly with current and prospective students.

Cons

The avatar is too small we would like a little larger avatar.

Reasons for choosing Ocelot

n/a

Ruth

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

December 2021

Higher Education Chatbot

Our institution has several permanent teaching locations and multiple other locations where students and community members request assistance. Ocelot allows the college to provide consistent messaging to everyone as well as provide a resource during non-operating hours. The customer service and support has been extremely high quality.

Pros

This platform was quite simple to implement at our institution. Staff at Ocelot did a great job explaining, deploying the product as well as responding immediately to any questions that my staff and co-workers might have had. The product is easy to maintain, and initial feedback indicates that staff and students appreciate the concise and consistent messaging that they receive when utilized.

Cons

Being a new user, we are unaware of any negatives with this platform.

Phyllis

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

April 2021

During These Times...More Important Than Ever

Hoot (our Chatbot's name) has been invaluable right from the beginning. But it's true value showed itself during the onset of the pandemic. There were so many question from applicants, students, faculty & staff. Ocelot did an outstanding job helping us manage the flow of information by preemptively supplying us with question templates - that helped us immensely!

Pros

I like that the Chatbot is continually learning how to answer questions. I am also very grateful for the excellent support from Ocelot's Team. They are extremely responsive ad helpful.

Cons

I do miss the ability to enter in in multiple versions of the same platform as we did on the older platform .

Paula

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

December 2021

Great product and wonderful resource for higher education institutions!

Everyone at Ocelot has been professional and very helpful during the implementation process. They are responsive to emails and issues as they arise.

Pros

The FATV Get Answers videos provide accurate and up-to-date information to students and visitors to our website. They ensure all videos are compliant with federal regulations and that is a huge benefit for institutions. Students have immediate access to financial aid information and resources by accessing the videos and chatbot functionality, which has improved customer service as questions can be answered 24/7.

Cons

Something that could be enhanced is information specifically for graduate and professional students as much of the content is geared toward undergraduate students.

Robin

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Value for money

out of 5

Customer support

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

Ask [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is a Success!

Pros

The ease of implementation; [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was is a great asset; being able to provide 24/7/365 questions to our customers; ease of adding addition Q&A

Cons

Reporting. I would like to see which questions were successfully answered by the chatbot. I could be using the analytics incorrectly as well.

Victor

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

Ease-of-use

out of 5

Functionality

out of 5

4.72

43 reviews

November 2021

Ocelot is the perfect package

Pros

The powerful AI has the ability to filter and answer questions in multiple languages quickly and effectively.

Cons

Integration of third party software could be expanded but it is widely known that they are hard at work implementing more ways to integrate, track, and respond to all inquiries.

Showing 1 - 25 of 43 reviews
Ocelot Reviews & Ratings | 2022 (2)

Ocelot

4.72/5 out of 43 reviews

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Mrs. Angelic Larkin

Last Updated: 09/30/2022

Views: 5853

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (67 voted)

Reviews: 90% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Mrs. Angelic Larkin

Birthday: 1992-06-28

Address: Apt. 413 8275 Mueller Overpass, South Magnolia, IA 99527-6023

Phone: +6824704719725

Job: District Real-Estate Facilitator

Hobby: Letterboxing, Vacation, Poi, Homebrewing, Mountain biking, Slacklining, Cabaret

Introduction: My name is Mrs. Angelic Larkin, I am a cute, charming, funny, determined, inexpensive, joyous, cheerful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.